2013 Caring Awards - nominations open until August 1, 2013

Nonprofit organizations in Scott and Rock Island counties are invited to nominate their top volunteers for the 2013 Quad City Caring Awards. The awards are presented each year by the Quad Cities Community Foundation to honor a select group of volunteers who have demonstrated their commitment to the betterment of our community.

This year, five volunteers will be honored. One of the awards will be given to a young volunteer under the age of 21.

“Nonprofits depend on volunteers,” said Susan Skora, President and CEO of the Community Foundation. “These generous people give the community something very valuable – their time and hard work. Recognizing them for this gift is one of the happiest events of the year.”

Nonprofits are encouraged to submit their nominations. A citizen committee of community leaders will select the winners. Each nonprofit that nominates an award recipient will receive a $1,000 grant from the Community Foundation in honor of the winner.

Quad City Caring Award winners will be recognized at the Community Foundation’s Annual Celebration on September 10, 2013. The event will be held at the Waterfront Convention Center in Bettendorf.

Completed forms must be submitted by August 1st to the Community Foundation, 852 Middle Road, Suite 100, Bettendorf, IA. Forms can also be emailed to info@qccommunityfoundation.org or faxed to 563-326-2870.

Call 563-326-2840 with any questions about the nomination process.

Don't forget to"Like" us on Facebook to see photos from last year's Annual Celebration and Caring Awards!

Previous Quad City Caring Award Winners

Mark Bawden – Nominated by the Putnam Museum/Giant Screen Theatre
Julia Field – Nominated by Hand In Hand
Greg Lundgren – Nominated by the Davenport Public Library
Tommy Miller – Nominated by HELP Legal Assistance
Travis "Rusty" Unterzuber – Nominated by Quad City Arts

Michael Cole – Nominated by 100 Black Men Quad Cities, Inc.
Christine Engebrecht Family – Nominated by Rock Island Senior Center/Project NOW
Sarah Johnson – Nominated by Family Resources
Lisa Lopez – Nominated by League of United Latin American Citizens
Kaylyn Maher – Nominated by the Midwest Writing Center

Susan Collins – Nominated by the Midwest Writing Center
Sarah Cronk – Nominated by The Sparkle Effect, Inc.
John Kessler – Nominated by Habitat for Humanity Quad Cities
Gwen Tombergs – Nominated by CASI – Center for Active Seniors
Gertrude Vogel – Nominated by Humility of Mary Housing, Inc.
Johnnie Woods – Nominated by the Student Tutoring and Mentoring Program (S.T.A.M.P.)

Duncan Cameron – Nominated by the Bettendorf Library Foundation
Anne Faust – Nominated by Teens for Tomorrow
Tom Gildehaus – Nominated by the Figge Art Museum
Kay Hobbs – Nominated by the Genesis Foundation
Jodi Plagenz – Nominated by Youth Service Bureau of Rock Island County

Larry Carson – Nominated by the Red Cross
Ann Franke – Nominated by the Davenport Public Library
Belinda Holbrook – Nominated by Habitat for Humanity
Jill McLaughlin – Nominated by the Quad City Symphony 
John Ward – Nominated by Arrowhead Ranch Board

Tad Birditt – Nominated by the Safer Foundation
Tom Getz – Nominated by Quad City Arts
Dorothy Hinrichsen – Nominated by the American Red Cross
Jim Lehman – Nominated by the Child Abuse Council
Jane Weber – Nominated by the Mississippi Valley Growers Association